NECC Observer

The student news website of Northern Essex Community College, Haverhill and Lawrence, Mass.

Presidential Scholarship winners

Twenty-seven local 2015 high school graduates were accepted to Northern Essex Community College’s Presidential Scholars Program, an honors program devoted to high academic achievement. The 16-year-old program is designed to reward motivated high school students who will be attending NECC.

“Most plan to transfer to a four-year college or university after getting an associate’s degree from Northern Essex.” said Lane Glenn, president of NECC.

Admission to the program includes a $1,000 scholarship, which is renewable provided the recipient maintain a GPA of 2.5 or higher while attending NECC. Accepted students also receive a staff or faculty mentor who acts as an academic resource throughout the student’s time on campus.

This year’s Presidential Scholars include students from Haverhill, Lawrence, Methuen, Plaistow, N.H.,  and other surroundings town and cities. For more information on the NECC Presidential Scholars Program, please contact Lindsay Graham at or at (978) 556-3629.


Haverhill High School

Gabrielle Ouellette, General Studies: Health Specialization

Wyatt Pepe, Law Enforcement Certificate

Xionnett Pla, Accounting

Haverhill Technical High School

Abigail Monson: Liberal Arts


Finance High School

Lindsey Costello, Early Childhood Education

Greater Lawrence Technical High School

Janelle Lopez, General Studies, Health Specialization

Glendaliz Restos, General Studies, Health Specialization

Jacqueline Rosales, Liberal Arts

Central Catholic High School

Chelsea Lynch, Liberal Arts

Lawrence International High School

Lys Ortiz, General Studies, Health Specialization

Crisleidy Paula, Liberal Arts, Psychology Option


Methuen High School

Rocherly Difo, Early Childhood Education

Ariorca Herrera Abreu, Liberal Arts, Middle-High School Teaching Option

Rayhon Perez, Biology

Deric Sutton, General Studies, Health Specialization


Triton High School

Joseph Simon Liberal Arts


Newburyport High School

Caitlyn Cole, General Studies, Art

North Andover

North Andover High School

Joseph Donofrio, Business Management

Plaistow New Hampshire

Timberlane Regional High School

Aurora Sidor, General Studies, Business Option

Salem New Hampshire

Salem High School

Erin Lehner, Liberal Arts, Theater Option

West Newbury

Pentucket High School

Emily Galligan, Biology


Masconomet Regional High School

Megan Gibson, Engineering Science

Derry, New Hampshire

Pinkerton Academy

Anthony Bowers, General Studies, Individualized Option


Georgetown High School

Abby Sippel, Liberal Arts


Pentucket Regional High School

Madison Lesiczka, Early Childhood Education

Natalie Scott, Liberal Arts