NECC Observer

The student news website of Northern Essex Community College, Haverhill and Lawrence, Mass.

Runners brave rain for Campus Classic

By The wind and the rain were no match for the 132 enthusiastic runners who participated in the Sixth Annual Northern Essex Community College Campus Classic 5K held Saturday, Oct. 13, on the Haverhill campus.

The top three runners were under 14 years of age. Jared Khalil, 13, of Newton, NH, ran a record-setting race of 16:53. He was followed by Nathan Lopez, 13, of Lynnfield, who ran 17:12, and Tyson Khalil, 12, of Newton, NH, who ran 18:45.

The top female finishers overall were Anylina Martinez, 22, of Haverhill, with a 20:10 time, Lauren Downer, 11, of Haverhill, who ran 20:45, and Anya Budzinski, 11, of North Andover, who ran 21:49.

There were runners representing different clubs and organizations in the community including Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union, Middlesex Community College, Borderline Running Club, the NECC President’s Running Club, Winner’s Circle Running Club, Mystic Running Club, Greater Lowell Road Runners, and the Haverhill Elite Running Club which accounted for 30 members.

The Campus Classic 5K is an annual college fundraising event held each year along the Haverhill Campus USATF certified course.  People of all ages and competitive levels, including novices and walkers, in this campus tradition which this year was held in conjunction with NECC Homecoming. Proceeds benefit the NECC Annual Fund for student scholarships and academic programs.

Again this year, Covanta, was the Gold Sponsor of the event. Covanta is one of the world’s largest owners and operators of infrastructure for the conversion of waste to energy as well as other waste disposal and renewable energy production businesses.

Lindsay Graham, NECC director of scholarship, alumni & community relations, said she was pleased to see so many runners brave the less than perfect elements to run.


Campus 5k Male Top Finishers
Jared Khalil 16:53 13
Nathan Lopez 17:02 13
Tyson Khalil 18:45 12
Isaac Gower-Hill 18:49 14
Adonis Garcia 18:53 14
Carter Higgins 19:06 17
Marcos Olivieri 20:14 13


Anyelina Martinez 20:10 22
Lauren Downer 20:45 11
Anya Buzinski 21:49 11
Finleigh Simonds 21:59 13
Emma Doherty 22:20 19
Kristen Kortz 22:32 40
Gabriela Olivieri 22:36 12